About Homelessness on the West Island

Since 2010, AJOI outreach street workers have been highlighting the homelessness issue that affects the West Island of Montreal (WI) and documenting it (Le phénomène de la domiciliation précaire chez de jeunes adultes dans la zone Ouest-de-l’Île de Montréal; AJOI, UQAM and Ville de Montréal, 2014; L’itinérance à Montréal Au-delà des chiffres, RAPSIM, 2016; Jeunes et itinérance Dévoiler une réalité peu visible, Conseil jeunesse de Montréal, 2017).


Young people who experience residential instability in WI use strategies such as couchsurfing, crowding and exchange of services making homelessness invisible to society. We call this phenomenon ‘’hidden homelessness’’. The Covid-19 pandemic has weakened the condition of people in a very precarious situation in the WI. Homelessness is increasingly visible, and for the most vulnerable people, it is becoming chronic.


AJOI workers perform hundreds of interventions per year related to homelessness, basic needs, housing and shelter. The 2015 count showed that 25.8% of homeless people in the city center come from the suburbs of Montreal (iCount MTL phase 2).




  • The existing resources on WI do not meet the needs of people who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless.

  •  The lack of services in the WI contributes directly to the marginalization of these people,           uprooting them from their community and breaking the sense of security they have developed on the  WI.

The Team 

Ricochet is managed by the team of Action Jeunesse de l'Ouest-de-l'Île (AJOI). 

AJOI has been working to better the quality of life of West Island youth since 2007. Its mission is to establish and maintain outreach intervention services with at-risk youth aged 12 to 25 years in the WI. Ricochet is the first resource of its kind on the WI territory to offer accommodation services to people experiencing homelessness.

Ricochet's Founding Members 

Benoit Langevin

Tania Charron

Michel Wilson

Antoinette Scarano

Glenn Doré

Jag Nara Simha Devara

Howard Nadler

Ian Heron

Alexandre Mercier

Karine Bah Tahé